Slice of Life 2020, Slice of Life 2021

A Smile Worth Remembering

Monday, one of my least favorite days. Back to waking up early, working out, and quickly rushing through making breakfast so we can all hurry out the door. There are usually tears and yelling followed by hugs and apologies.

Today was no different. The girls argued with each other. They cry, I hug and soothe. And then I drop them off at the neighbor’s house and I head to work.

Work today has been long. I think it is the effects of the time change. Losing an hour this weekend did not help with the tiredness that I am always feeling. It was dark this morning…what time is the sun going to be rising now anyway? And the weather has been awful. Horrible winds, sleet, rain, snow, all the things.

But then I get to the last class I am coaching in, virtual kindergarten writing. One of the students unmutes to say, “Dr. Olson is here now!”, a huge smile plastered on his face. I wave and say hello, with a huge smile of my own. I then tell him, “When you come to school eventually, I am going to get to meet you in person!” He looks at the screen, eyes wide, huge smile, and raises his arms overhead in excitement. He can’t wait!

So on this gloomy Monday, where I am tired and ready to relax, I will take the enthusiasm of one little boy with me, remembering the smile on his face.

10 thoughts on “A Smile Worth Remembering”

  1. Monday was hard! It was raining here which should be illegal on the morning after time change weekend. I agree, I couldn’t cheer up until I got to school and saw some of my favorite people! My students.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment