Slice of Life 2020

Fear

It is amazing how fast things can make a turn for the worse and start to panic you. The Coronavirus has officially freaked me out!

It started with an email saying the university I teach a class at was extending spring break and then turning face-to-face classes into online classes for at least two week.

Then I watched President Trump give his speech about the precautions the country was taking.

I went to bed, worrying what this all would mean.

I woke up and things were okay. But then I get a call saying to check my email from my daughters’ school district. They were making a lot of changes including not letting any visitors into the classrooms. Normally, this would not bother me. But Friday, I was supposed to read to my daughter’s classroom for her birthday. But not this year.

Then I read my school district was following suit. All unnecessary activities were being cancelled.

I watched the news, something I never do, so I could hear the governor speak and more precautions. No sporting events, no large gatherings, a whole lot of nothing.

I respect all of the precautions, I am a rule follower by nature. But it has started to really scare me. When Izzie came home talking about the “kimono virus” I have to be careful about what we say around the girls. I don’t want to scare them, but we have to make them aware.

Oh, and Izzie is such a problem solver. When I told her I couldn’t come read to her class, she told me I should just make a video of the me reading the book and send it to her teacher. And so I did!

15 thoughts on “Fear”

  1. She is a great problem solver! And you are right to chronicle how this event is affecting us at more and more personal levels.

    Like

  2. We found out tonight that we will go to school tomorrow, but then won’t have school for three weeks. Lots of my kids don’t have internet access. Or people to watch them during the day. Or food in their cupboards. Trying to figure out tonight what I can do to support them.

    Like

  3. Oh, Izzie, great idea. So you do get to come to her class for her birthday. That is very special. I heard Dr. Fauci explain it well that all the large group cancellations and renewed commitment to killing germs will help us take the peak off the outbreak. Hopefully the “peak” will be rounded off, and less people will have to suffer and die. Bless you and your family and all your efforts to stop the spread.

    Like

Leave a comment