Slice of Life 2022

Impromptu Lunch Date

Slice of Life 2022-Day 18

Never have I ever taken either of my girls out of school for a doctor appointment…until earlier this week. Izzie needed to see a pediatric orthopedic doctor and they didn’t have any afterschool appointments for at least six weeks. We didn’t want to wait that long with her being a gymnast and the impact it was having on her foot.

We sent Izzie to school with a note explaining that she would be picked up at 12:30. So, I took a half day, leaving work at 11:30. I enjoyed the ride, listening to the end of my book. As I drew nearer to home, I realized I was going to be there well before 12:30.

I arrived at school, told the office who I was picking up, and then waited for Izzie to come down from class. Eventually, she made her way to the office and we headed out the door. We were greeted with spring like weather, including warmer temperatures and plenty of sunshine.

“You were early,” Izzie quickly let me know.

“I know. Traffic was not that bad and the ride went faster than I thought it would, ” I responded.

We walked to the car and got inside. And then I gave her a choice. “We can either go get a quick lunch before heading to the doctor’s office or we can go home, grab a quick lunch, and get Starbucks on the way home. Which would you prefer?”

She proceeded to think for a moment before responding. “Out for lunch!” came her excited reply.

We both decided that Panera would be a great choice for our lunch date. I always treasure the one on one time that I am gifted with my girls. Spending the short time at Izzie brought happiness into my heart. From chatting to playing hangman to just being silly, we enjoyed our impromptu lunch date.

Mommy and Izzie lunch date

6 thoughts on “Impromptu Lunch Date”

Leave a comment