Slice of Life 2022

Gotta Love That Feeling

Slice of Life 2022-Day 17

Exhausted. That is my feeling right now. Today I did something that I have not done in many years. I taught a full day as a substitute.

I was asked to sub before I even had my bag unpacked this morning. It was an emergency situation so of course I said I would do it. I would have done it even if it had not been an emergency.

While I have taught in the classroom, it has been a bit since my last stint as classroom teacher. I know how much goes into teaching each day. I am surrounded by amazing teachers who teach everyday. But I forgot how exhausting it can be.

Being “on” and available for the students all day. Walking and standing for the majority of the day. Answering numerous questions because directions were not clear or I was doing things the same as the regular teacher. Having your plan time first thing in the morning and then having 3 solid hours of no break in the afternoon. Drinking water and then having to text a teacher to come visit so I could use the restroom.

So thank you to all the teachers out there. You work so hard each and everyday for your students. You give them you all each and every day. You wear do many different hats all in the same day. Thank you for all you do and may you find time to relax when you get home.

3 thoughts on “Gotta Love That Feeling”

  1. I appreciate your noticing of the stresses of the classroom. Every job in education has its challenges and its joys. The typical classroom teacher would probably struggle with your schedule, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment