Home

Ready, Set, Shop!

Slice of Life 2022-Day 5

Have you ever watched the game show Super Market Sweep? Tonight, that was sort of how our family outing to the grocery store went, all because none of us really wanted to go out to the store.

As my husband, Jim, announced we were going to the grocery store, a collective groan arose from me and the girls. “Do we have to go?” Izzie asked. I was right there with her. After a busy day of running around, I wanted to curl up on the couch with my book. But Jim was not relenting, so I quickly thought about how could we make the trip to the store a bit more fun.

Our list appeared to be on the small side, so I asked, “What if we split up the shopping list? Grab some sticky notes and each pair will have to get the items on their list!”

Izzie grabbed the sticky notes and I divided up the list, seven items a piece. Into the car we went and we were off!

Once we arrived at the store, it was game on! Jim and Sophia grabbed a basket and were off to find the items on their sticky note. Izzie and I decided a small cart would work best for us. Once we had the cart, we too, were off into the store. Several minutes later, we had all the items in our cart. Izzie said, “Let’s go! We have to beat them!” I asked her, “Are we supposed to meet up with daddy and Sophia or are we supposed to check out?”

“Check out!” exclaimed Izzie. Not feeling so sure, I quickly texted Jim and then saw them in an aisle not too far away. They had most of their items, still needing to head across the store for one more item. We decided they would get their last item and Izzie and I would grab a few more things for dinner tonight. We once again met up and were ready to check out.

As we headed out of the doors, the girls jumped onto the car, sharing that they had never tried riding on the small cart. They were successful!

A regular trip to the grocery store turned into something extraordinary, and some might even say fun! As we shared our best parts of our days, grocery shopping made the list!

Shopping success!

4 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Shop!”

  1. Aha…I love this idea and am going to share it with my kids and grandkids. They’ll love it! Ironically, someone mentioned ‘Flea Market Flip in a comment and then I read your ‘Super Market Sweep’. They both sound fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment