Slice of Life 2021

Early Morning Love

Early morning wakeup…last one before spring break! Unfortunately, the wake up happened an hour before the alarm. I tried to go back to sleep, really I did, but my mind wasn’t having it. There are things you could accomplish this morning, my mind seemed to say. And it wasn’t wrong, I could bake those cookies I forgot to bake last night, I could get my workout in, I could grade, I could read. Oh the possibilities were endless!

So rather than fight it, I pushed myself out of bed. Cookie baking hear I come! After my morning routine, as Sophia likes to call it, I headed downstairs, yoga mat slung over my shoulder. My plan was to make the cookie dough, and then, while the cookies were in the oven, I could squeeze in my 10 minute yoga. Before heading to the kitchen, I ran to the basement to grab my headphones. I could listen to my book while I was baking!

I began pulling out the ingredients, preheating the oven, and setting up the mixer, all while listening to my book. I was rather enjoying myself. And then I turned around. There was Sophia, walking into the kitchen. Now, I love spending a bit of time with my girls in the morning before work but it was only 5:30!!!

“Good morning Sophia! Why are you up so early?” I asked her.

“I couldn’t find Sven,” she replied.

Ahh yes, Sven her favorite stuffed reindeer. She slept with him every night. We had already had an incident with him earlier this week, when he was accidently left at the neighbor’s house.

“All right, let’s go find him,” I said as I scooped up Sophia and headed to the stairs. We quickly discovered that Sven had fallen on the floor overnight and had been covered up by a blanket. With Sven secured, I tried to persuade Sophia to head back to bed and try to get some more sleep. It did not work. She climbed on my back and we headed back into the kitchen. I placed her at her spot at the kitchen table where she sat.

She quietly watched as I continued making the cookie dough, coming over when I offered her a lick of the dough.

Once the cookies were in the oven, I grabbed my yoga mat. I had a limited amount of time! Sophia joined me, working on her puzzle. The cookies came out of the oven, I finished yoga and even managed a short meditation. When finished, I told Sophia I would read to her. Instead, she insisted I help her with her puzzle. So I kneeled on my yoga mat and attempted to fit some pieces together. Eventually it was time to head back upstairs to get ready for work.

I treasure my early moments. Today was made all the more special with a visit from Sophia. Completely unexpected, but totally welcome!

8 thoughts on “Early Morning Love”

  1. I felt the demands of school and family and teaching in the first part of this slice and when cookie baking is the priority, you know that early morning hours are well spent! The story of Sven within the story is lovely and this was a treat reading this slice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s so hard not to get wrapped up the in routine of things. I find myself constantly having to say it’s okay if my son’s nap isn’t at a certain time and we go to the zoo. Or it’s okay if my alone time happens to have a snuggler along for it.

    Being a mom is a constant push and pull especially when you work full time. So glad you got precious moments with your love.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment