Slice of Life 2020

Silver Linings

In the midst of chaos, today I choose to focus on the good things in my life, the silver linings.

We had green milk with breakfast to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day.

Green milk!

Day 2 of Mommy School went well…more relaxed than yesterday, but still lots of laughs, fun, memories, and oh yeah, learning!

Sophia read a book to me and said it was easier this time than the last time when she read it to Daddy.

I love reading!

Izzie is reading the seventh Owl Diary book to me and I love listening.

Owl Diaries here we come!

Sophia worked on making words, using what she has learned at preschool.

Making -at and -an words

The girls and I took an hour walk around the neighbor, searching for shamrocks, getting in some fitness exercises, and stopping to vote.

We called grandparents to check in and see how they are doing.

We had quiet rest time, where one of us fell asleep (and it wasn’t me this time!), and claimed they didn’t sleep. But we had proof.

I was just resting…

The girls and I went for a bike ride. I have gotten more exercise in two days than I do in a week sometimes!

Ready to ride!

We didn’t have screen time until late in the day. No one even asked.

We have spent more time outside than we normally do.

We have made memories.

We have laughed…and cried.

We learned together.

We focused on the positive, knowing that things are okay now, but are likely to get worse before they get better.

10 thoughts on “Silver Linings”

  1. Your silver linings are beautiful! Thank you for sharing…it seems like so many of us are choosing to see the “silver linings” & the joy in this unprecedented time.

    Like

  2. What a wonderful day. I love all the amazing things you did with your girls and that tv was way down on the list. I hope you have many more days just like this with books and bikes.

    Like

  3. I like your silver linings! That is a lot how my day with my son went yesterday. Today, not so much. It helped to be reminded that there are some silver linings out there. We’ll all have our ups and downs, but you reminded me that we can find the silver linings if we try.

    Like

Leave a comment