Uncategorized

Anxiety

Constant butterflies in my stomach. The inability to focus on any one idea or project. Quick to snap with my words. Feeling as though there is an elephant on my chest. Unable to fall asleep. My mind racing in too many different directions.

Anxiety. And when it hits, it hits hard.

As I write tonight, this is what I am feeling. Anxiety is no stranger to me, but I wish it didn’t visit quite so often. I wish that I could keep my thoughts from racing and stop getting so nervous over things out of control.

So here I sit…thinking and trying to push the feelings away. Trying to forget the mountain of work in my bag by the stairs. Trying to forget the meeting in the morning. Trying to forget all of the things that I want to do to make Izzie’s birthday a success. Trying to forget to make it go away.

Only, it doesn’t just go away. So instead, I will try to find something to take my mind off of the feelings, even if it is just for a little bit. Maybe reading a book, maybe working on a puzzle, maybe watching TV, maybe playing a game. And I will hope that, when I get to bed, I can sleep and tomorrow will be better.

12 thoughts on “Anxiety”

  1. Great way of writing about such a constant in my life lately. Sometimes I think anxiety is a constant in most teacher’s life’s. I’m glad you are taking your mind off of it, you deserve it! Also, Mondays are always hard. I am sure tomorrow will be a better day!

    Like

  2. So much of this slice works to capture the pace of your racing thoughts, from the short snappy sentences to the repetition of trying…trying…trying…and maybe, maybe. I hope by writing this so well that you were able to release some of your anxiousness.

    Like

  3. Sending you peaceful thoughts. Anxiety is invisible but so real. I appreciate that you shared your personal story with us.

    Like

  4. I really connected with your Slice. I’ve been diagnosed with an anxiety disorder and it is real. Last Friday, our district had PD with a Cognitive Psychologist to discuss ADHD and anxiety disorders in our children. It was amazing. So much of what she shared shed light on the struggles that come from anxiety but also the gift. Her words were, “Sometimes we pick our challenges, sometimes they pick us. It doesn’t matter because you always have a choice with what you’ll think, what you’ll do, what you’ll say. We do not have to be victims to our challenges.” I could go on and on. She also talked about the antidote to suffering being connection. Glad to see you are connecting with others.

    Like

Leave a comment