Slice of Life 2022

Happy birthday

Slice of Life 2022-Day 9

Today is my dad’s 75th birthday. Week day visits are extremely challenging, so my family and I went to visit this past Saturday.

My girls love a visit with Papa. To them, he is forever the one who is silly and funny, who will play games when asked, and always has yummy snacks.

For me, he will always be my dad. But he is not the same as he once was, growing older. His memory is not quite what it used to be, being diagnosed with Alzheimer’s last year. Now, when we visit, I wonder if it will be a good day or a bad day. Will he remember our names? How many times will he ask the same question, still not recalling the answer?

But in this day, it was a good day. Hugs and smiles for the girls. Lunch and silliness as we ate. He even agreed to go for a walk so we could see the pond. He told stories, over and over, some true and some not. He played games with girls, at their request of course! He was dad and Papa.

Leave a comment